Seasonal Mushrooms

Smoke coming up of the chimneys, foggy window, candles and soft music.. all great sight that it arrived the season we all enjoyed to stay home, lie in the couch with a warm blanket … perfect for a nice homemade soup to warm us up!

I love mushroom and as this is the season, I went to the local market and purchased a variety of fresh ones, regular champions, shitake, chantarelle and coming home I was already thinking how to cook them, I could already smell their flavor!

Few weeks ago I went in a nice French restaurant and as welcome starter the owner gave us some mushroom soup, it is amazing, so to continue my experiment in the kitchen I decided to cook it myself.

What you need:

600 gr of mushroom (different types)

a bunch of dried porcini mushroom

vegetable stock

onion

salt and pepper

bunch of parsley

mascarpone (optional to be used at the end)

How to proceed:

First of all place the dried porcini in a small bowl and pour boiling water and leave for a couple of minutes. In the meanwhile take a pan, add olive oil and chopped onion, once the onion start to get gold , add the mushroom previously sliced. Mix and add the dried mushroom and the soaked water, leave it to cook for about 20 minutes. Keep cooking and add slowly the vegetable stock and if needed some extra water. Bring to a boil, add the parsley and if you like some mascarpone to give some texture to the soup.

This recipe is quite simply, but being the first time I tried it, I did not want to “go crazy” with some complicated long recipe.

As a true Italian, I love to serve this with some warm crostini.

I am so sorry, but we were so hungry that we ate it without even taking a picture.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

